Marymatha Province- Administration

In preparation for the division of the Vincentian Congregation into Provinces, on 03 July 1987, the feast of St. Thomas the Apostle, the Congregation was divided into three Regions. Many years before, on 28 February 1980, Satna Mission of the Congregation was raised to the status of a Region with the whole Hindi speaking area as its territory. Besides, two regions were erected in Kerala and a mission area each was attached to them. The territory of the Northern Region in Kerala, named Marymatha region, was comprised of the territories of the following Archeparchies and eparchies: Archdioceses of Ernakulam, Trichur and Tellicherry and dioceses of Irinjalakuda, Palghat, Thamarassery, and Mananthavady. Andhra and Ahmednagar Missions were attached to this Region. Fr. Joseph Pampackal was appointed as the Regional Superior. In 1990, when the Regions were raised to the status of Provinces, Marymatha Region became the Marymatha Province and Rev. Fr. George Kammattil was elected the first Provincial Superior of Marymatha Province. Vincentian House at Pachalam was the temporary regional headquarters of the Marymatha Region. When Marymatha Province was formed in the year 1990, Pachalam House functioned as the Provincial House till shifted to Angamaly in 1993. Fr. Alex Aikkara, Fr. James Chelapurath, Fr. Varghese Parappuram and Fr. James Kallumkal and Fr.  Paul Puthuva served as Provincial Superiors of the Marymatha Province for different periods of time. At present the Province is led by Very Rev. Fr. James Kallumkal, elected Provincial Superior in May 2017.

At present Marymatha province has 71 houses and centers. The primary ministry of preaching the Good News to the poor is advancing. The Province has full-fledged popular mission preaching in Kerala and Andhra. It has several retreat centers in India as well as in other countries such as Kenya, Uganda, Germany, USA, UK, Canada and Australia. Divine TV Channel brings the joy of the Gospel to thousands of people all over the world. The service of the Province in the social, educational, pastoral and missionary fields is also flourishing.

In 1991, Kalyan diocese entrusted the civil district of Ahmednagar in Maharashtra with the Marymatha Province for intensive and extensive evangelization with territorial jurisdiction. The mission was formally inaugurated by Mar Paul Chittilappilly, the then Bishop of Kalyan diocese on September 11, 1991. The mission is called St. Paul Mission.

The mission works in Andhra Pradesh begun in 1978 at Bhimadole in the diocese of Eluru were extended to other dioceses of Rayalaseema area in 1988. The mission works in Andhra Pradesh were organized under a mission superior from 1998. This mission was declared a dependent region under Marymatha Province called Good Shepherd Region on 6 January 2006, and was officially inaugurated on 24th of the same month. 

The mission works in East Africa begun with the arrival of Rev. Frs. James Edavazhithara and Jacob Athickal in Mbeya, Tanzania on 10 July 1979 were accelerated with the arrival of Rev. Fr. Joseph Kurupamparambil. The African Mission has been raised to the status of a dependent region under Marymatha Province called Sacred Heart Region on 6 January 2006 and was formally inaugurated on 18 November 2006. 

Present Administrative Body

Fr. Paul Puthuva
Provincial Superior, Marymatha Province
Fr. John Mangalath
Councilor for Education
and Media &
Provincial Secretary
Fr. Mathew Thadathil
Asst. Provincial, Councilor for Retreats,
Popular Mission and
Pastoral Work
Fr. Joseph Srambical
Councilor for Mission,
Social and
Charitable Works
Fr. Paul Tharakan
Councilor for Finance
and Construction

Consultative Body

Dept. of Formation                           - Fr. Vezhaparambil Rafy & Fr. Palaparambil John

Dept. of Retreats & Pastoral Work    - Fr. Payyappilly Antony & Fr. Kottaparambil Varghese

Dept. of Social Work & Mission        - Fr. Palatty Martin & Fr. Perinchery Varghese

Dept. of Education & Media             - Fr. Punnassery Joseph & Fr. Thekkekulam Mathew

Dept. of Finance & Construction      - Fr. Pazheveettil Jose & Fr. Puthuparambil George

Director of Popular Mission              - Fr. Kottaparambil Varghese (Kerala)

                                                      Fr. Nettiyankal Sebastian (AP)

                                                        Fr. Kalloorkkattu Varghese (East Africa)

                                                        Fr. Thekkekara Thomas (St. Paul Mission)

Director of Social Works                   - Fr. Perinchery Varghese

Coordinator of Regency                   - Fr. Pottayil George

Internal Auditor of Accounts             - Fr. Sebastian Nediyani

Legal Cell of the Province:                - Fr. Manalel George                           

                                                           Fr. Plackal Antony

                                                           Fr. Thayil Philip

Secretary to the Provincial Superior  - Fr. Jomson Kunnel


Address          Marymatha Provincial House, P.B. No. 1, Angamaly South, 683 573,  Kerala, India.

Contact us     Tel.                 0484 2452336, 2457890

                        E mail